Economic Growth & Health

I have a strong conclusion that health conditions or even the awareness of good health practices are a direct function of economic prosperity of the individual. This has been arrived by looking at my family, my friends and their families around. Let me try to explain:

The principle rationale behind this conclusion is based on the fact that if I am not economically strong, how can I think anything beyond my basic survival strategy followed by some avenues for saving for a better future ? My life becomes circled on various transactions to reach this objective and to try to achieve this, I spend 14-16 hours a day with the rest 20% – 30% of the time spending in taking some rest in order to recharge myself for the next day survival.

Once I have some money in my bank and I think my basic standard of living has improved (which can be easily measured by the method of transportation now being mostly used, by the frequency of visits to restaurants and movie theaters, etc), then I automatically think of various other subjects that will tend to make my life longer and yet happier.

That is the time I hear on terms like “returns from equity much better than debt instruments”, impact of social marketing and social-commerce and of course, the various terminologies that pertains to the health barometer. I tend to know what HDL stands for, why triglyceride is not good for the long run, what are the parameters that normally come under a Lipid profile test, etc. By the way, I am not a doctor by profession, nor am I associated with the medical line; yet, there is a big knowledge investment on health parameters to allow me to even lecture to my friends on what food they should avoid if they have a high SGPT !

However, at the end of the day, do we, sometimes tend to think that “ignorance is bliss” when we can have two cream-cracker biscuits thinking of the moron who actually named this as a “cream cracker”  !! Who would have cared for this knowledge and deprive us of the niceties in life ?

Well, guys, if you feel the frustration similar to the above, let me tell you one thing – you definitely have gone up the economic prosperity value chain :-)

About ayanmaj

A human being who believes only in humanity; is critical on things that don't go correctly around him; wants to express his opinion to the world and finally, wants to walk the talk .....

Posted on December 2, 2011, in International, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

